Short answer: Tab: Text Tab for research, scheduling, calls, purchases; private beta Instinct: Personal assistant you text or call; it uses a phone and computer the way people do to handle everyday tasks.
Tab vs Instinct
Sourced facts only. “Unknown” means not verified yet.
Key facts side by side
| Criterion | Tab | Instinct |
|---|---|---|
| Type | personal agent | personal agent |
| Vendor | Unknown | Spear Street Technology (per TechCrunch) |
| Channels / category | iMessage and WhatsApp; own phone number, computer and wallet | Text or phone call (per instinct.com) |
| Pricing / availability | Private beta behind a waitlist | Free, invite-only beta (per Fortune, 30 Sep 2026) |
| Launched | 2026-10-06 | 2026-02 |
| Funding (reported) | Emerged from stealth at USD 300M valuation; amount not disclosed (Oct 2026) | USD 250M Series B at USD 2.5B valuation (Aug 2026); USD 1B Series C at USD 10B valuation (Sep 2026) |
| Channels confirmed | iMessage, WhatsApp, Phone call | SMS/text, Phone call |
| Verified facts | Users text Tab on iMessage or WhatsApp; it has its own phone number, computer and wallet; Emerged from stealth at a USD 300M valuation; funding amount not disclosed; Nothing is paid until the user approves the purchase (TFN) | Interface: 'You can text or call it. It can use a phone and computer in the same way that humans do.'; Example tasks on its site: disputing a bill, sending gifts, ordering groceries, scheduling doctor's appointments, planning a getaway; Private beta launched February 2026 (Fortune, citing WSJ); invite-only beta since August 2026; Raised USD 250M Series B (Index Ventures, Benchmark) at USD 2.5B valuation; total USD 350M at the time; Raised USD 1B Series C (Sequoia, Benchmark, Coatue) at USD 10B valuation, 28 Sep 2026; Privacy concerns were raised online about broad app permissions (TechCrunch) |
| Website | https://tab.bot | https://instinct.com |
| Sources | [1] [2] [3] | [1] [2] [3] [4] |
| Last checked | 2026-10-12 | 2026-10-12 |
Frequently asked questions
What is Tab?
Text Tab for research, scheduling, calls, purchases; private beta
What is Instinct?
Personal assistant you text or call; it uses a phone and computer the way people do to handle everyday tasks.
How much does Tab cost?
Private beta behind a waitlist
How much does Instinct cost?
Free, invite-only beta (per Fortune, 30 Sep 2026)
Are Tab and Instinct the same type of agent?
Tab is listed as a personal agent and Instinct as a personal agent.
More comparisons
- Grok Bot vs OpenAI Dots
- Grok Bot vs Claude Cowork
- OpenAI Dots vs Claude Cowork
- OpenAI Dots vs Meta Muse
- Business vs personal agents
Updated
